Driving test

Discussion in 'US Xpress' started by Roadie363, Feb 21, 2011.

1. Roadie363

Roadie363 Light Load Member

Sep 23, 2007
    Tulsa, Ok
    Headed to Dallas tomorrow to start orientation Wed. I have some previous experience tho its been awhile. It is good enough tho that I won't be going out with a trainer. I am wondering what the driving eval is like for experienced drivers. Pretrip? Backing, 45's, 90, etc? Road test I assume they get you out on the interstate and some city?
    Appreciate any info, hope to meet some of you all soon!
    Cheers

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Marksteven

Marksteven Road Train Member

Apr 24, 2009
    Bumble Fxxx
    I will give you this little tip: when you go out on your road test, completely forget that someone is in the jump seat next to you. just relax and do your own thing, be safe and it will work out. make sure you use good following distances and signal all your intentions. as far as backing, either you have it or you dont, just dont get fustrated which makes it worse. if you miss/grind a gear dont cuss and get fustrated, thats newbie behavior. just act like your an experienced driver and it will work out. good luck

4. Eagle_Eye

Eagle_Eye Medium Load Member

Sep 26, 2010
    ClarksvilleTennesse
    I agree 100% if you worry about them you make mistakes. Also if they get in your mirrors or line of sight tell them to move. You are in charge of that truck not him.

5. red61949

red61949 Bobtail Member

Feb 21, 2011
    Does anyone know if US Express Has a terminal or drop yard off of I20 in central MS?

6. Poobah

Poobah Light Load Member

Jun 23, 2009
    Arizona

What they said. It will probably be the easiest road test you'll ever have.