Due Diligence before buying used truck

Discussion in 'Trucks [ Eighteen Wheelers ]' started by AH180, Jan 16, 2022.

1. AH180

AH180 Bobtail Member

Jan 16, 2022
    Hello, I am new member and if this is the wrong section, I am sorry.

So I am looking to buy used truck and I have narrowed it down to a 2012-2014 Freightliner cascadia. The specifications of the truck is not as important as its condition. Although, I have worked in the industry for two years as a company driver, I am not at all well versed with the inner workings of trucks. That's why I am here. Obviously, before you purchase a used truck you check the truck to make sure it's in good shape and shouldn't need much/serious repairs before you can roll it onto the road. My question is, what should I be looking at? is there a checklist of some kind? I'll hire a mechanic, but still, I want to make sure I have done everything I could before I commit. For example, reading around the forums, I have already learned that you should look for history of maintenance.

Thanks.

truckdriver31 Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Siinman

Siinman Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2017
    Kansas City, MO.
    Search forum a lot of answers on this question as it has been asked a lot over time.

truckdriver31 Thanks this.
  4. JoeyJunk

JoeyJunk Road Train Member

Dec 31, 2010
    Washington, PA
    That age range is problematic. Even if the truck price fits your price range the repair costs down the road may not. All the due diligence in the world will not ensure you get a good one, especially with an emissions truck. Good luck.

Last edited: Jan 16, 2022
    truckdriver31, Catmando and LoneRanger Thank this.
  5. Arctic_fox

Arctic_fox Road Train Member

Sep 16, 2016