DUI question

Discussion in 'Trucker Legal Advice' started by missingtheroad, Dec 13, 2016.

1. missingtheroad

missingtheroad Bobtail Member

Dec 13, 2016
    san diego
    I was a OTR company truck driver from 2003 to 2013 I got a DUI in 2013 conviction date 2014. A lot companies will not hire me because of insurance reasons. I am thinking going the o/o route, I contacted a big nation wide insurance company they said they would put me on. Other than the insurance company whos to know I have a DUI? freight broker? shipper/receiver? Is there something I am missing? I want to start driving again, I have always dreamed of becoming a true 100% o/o is the way to go in terms of the DUI? please help

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. snowwy

snowwy Road Train Member

Jul 6, 2009
    Come back and ask again in 2023. You don't have a chance untill then. But if you get another DUI. You can forget it.

4. skulldrinker

skulldrinker Light Load Member

Apr 20, 2012
    No one would touch me for 5 years.....some companies want even more time. I had to do other stuff besides driving. Luckily I was able to stretch out my obama unemployment money to 99 weeks at the time. It was a long wait to get back behind the wheel. You'll never want to go through it again.

I found that small companies were good for getting back into it. I was picked up by a small local construction company and drove a dump truck to get my 2 years in. Most big places won't hire you without 2 years current driving experience. Doesn't matter that you drove for 20 years before the DUI. Catch 22...unhireable for 5 years and then won't hire you cause you don't have 2 years current driving.

Last edited: Dec 13, 2016
  5. Ridgeline

Ridgeline Road Train Member

Dec 18, 2011
    Michigan
    What?

YOU want to pay the additional $20k in insurance because you are considered a very high risk driver?

6. 6wheeler