First CB and New truck

Discussion in 'CB Radio Forum' started by Jmcdaniel0, Sep 29, 2017.

1. Jmcdaniel0

Jmcdaniel0 Light Load Member

Sep 29, 2017
    Ok so ill admit I am a rookie. I have been driving for about 6 months now and when i got my own truck my wife bought me a Cobra 29 lx. The guy at the shop installed it for me using the stock antenna built into the truck and it is terrible. I have been reading alot here and apparently my Freightliner Cascadia is a known pain in the ###.

So I picked up the wilson mirror mount, 18ft of the wilson coax cable, and now I am looking for a decent antenna. I dont want to spend a fortune and I have been looking at the wilson 2000. Would my radio and equipment be a good match for that. I know nothing about watts and all that. Once I install it I plan to have a local cb shop peak and tune it for me, but i would like to have the set up ready to go before I have it done.

Sorry if I am beating the horse with this but in all of the threads I didnt see an answer.

shroomhauler Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. poppapump1332

poppapump1332 Road Train Member

Jan 2, 2010
    birdsboro,pa
    wilson 2000 is good just make sure your swr's are correct.

rabbiporkchop and Blaskowitz Thank this.
  4. Jazz1

Jazz1 Road Train Member

May 7, 2012
    Thunder Bay On
    I drive the same POS. Usually I have to wiggle connection and maybe connect and disconnect a couple times to get decent match on factory connection to radio. Sometimes its way off, other times flat match. I'm assuming you are using meter on radio?

5. Roberts450

Roberts450 Road Train Member

Feb 6, 2016
    Dont let a cb shop hack up the inside of your radio with a peak n tune unless you know its a guy that knows what he is doing. Just make sure the antenna is tuned to the lowest/best possible SWR.

rabbiporkchop, slim6596 and Blaskowitz Thank this.
  6. Jmcdaniel0