Flatbed tandem or multi axle

Discussion in 'Canadian Truckers Forum' started by Pmp, Feb 21, 2019.

1. Pmp

Pmp Bobtail Member

Jan 25, 2018
    Looking to buy my first flatbed and wanted to get some input on what you guys/gals prefer. Ive been hauling heavy for the last 7 years (5 and 6 axle) not sure if i should make the switch to a tandem 10' to 1 spread. Im interested in heading south west into the Warmer states so im not to sure on restrictions for number of axles im allowed to run in every state.

What would be more versatile and more money in the long run?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. 3noses

3noses Light Load Member

Dec 16, 2009
    Clearwater, B.C.
    If you buy a tandem, and plan to run any Western Canada, make sure it has the sliding front axle option to close up to a close spread (5' good choice) to be legal there. And if California bound, 40' kingpin to rear axle centre for any trailer over 48'.
    Another good option is a tri-axle on a full slider, no downside here, and as many Western US states allow higher gross weights than 80,000 lbs, it gives additional flexibility for loads down and back from Canada, which of course has even higher gross weights.
    If money is no object, a full aluminum, air ride tridem 48-53' would be an excellent choice. Rate wise, heavier loads should pay more, of course, but they frequently don't. Drywall, for example. Higher value loads pay better, and are not always heavier.
    Tridum axles in the US are allowed 43,500 lbs per set, with a 10' spread, but the 80,000 lb weight cap is still in effect in most of the US for reducible loads, except many US western states which have higher gross max weights.

Pmp Thanks this.
  4. Pmp

Pmp Bobtail Member

Jan 25, 2018
    Good info tnx.

Wouldn't a 5 or 6 axle work just fine then? Just asking im still unclear whether or not im allowed to run a 6 axle southwest /midwest.