Flatbed Wages

Discussion in 'Flatbed Trucking Forum' started by Feanor, May 27, 2017.

1. Feanor

Feanor Bobtail Member

May 24, 2017
    Newbie here, in the process of acquiring my CDL. I am a young, single male with no home-time obligations and willing to run hard.

I am set on trying trucking, and flatbedding in particular, but I really want to get a REALISTIC idea of what I can hope to get pay-wise, both as a rookie and moving forward.

So the purpose of this thread is to gather as much detailed information about Flatbed trucking wages as possible. Keyword here is detailed. I have browsed dozens of threads with people asking similar questions, but the answers are all over the place and provide no supporting statistics.

Problem with these answers is they don't give you any real info, just some vague opinion. "Bad pay" and "Good pay" are very subjective terms. So here I want to ask people for some accurate, detailed information on their current earnings. In particular:

Your CPM/other pay.
    Yearly Gross/Net.
    Average weekly pay.
    Average weekly miles.
    What you can expect to make from accessory pay like Tarping, Layover, Detention, etc.
    What company you work/worked for.
    Regional and OTR.
    How did your company pay? (Hub, practical, HHG?)
    How hard do you run? (Please be honest. Do you take extra hometime/downtime?)
    Any other relevant details I am missing.

I would really appreciate any info from current/recent drivers!

I have to ask though, PLEASE don't give some vague answer like I mentioned above. It doesn't help. Everyone on the internet has their own opinions, and the only way to get accurate info is collecting and comparing a lot of different sources independently.

And before anyone says it, I am aware of sites that give average yearly salaries for truck drivers and companies, but these are all over the place and not specific enough for my questions. Nor do I consider them particularly trustworthy.