flatbedding, tough group to get into?

Discussion in 'Flatbed Trucking Forum' started by Jimmy T, Aug 27, 2012.

1. Jimmy T

Jimmy T Bobtail Member

Aug 17, 2009
    Southwest MI
    I am a student at a 3 week cdl school in MI. I have had my heart set on flatbedding for a while now, but am having trouble getting a second look from the companies I have applied to. Granted I may not be your typical student, I am 48 years old, but I have been in construction for nearly 30 of those 48 years so I'm not afraid of physical work. I am scheduled to test this Thursday. I don't want to go with just anybody but I have a line on what seems to be a decent dry van/reefer company. I am thinking about doing my obligatory year and a day there while I keep an eye, and ear, out for the "perfect flatbed job". I am hoping the year of OTR experience will make me more attractive to a flatbed company. Who knows maybe the small family owned company will turn out to be a good fit. I just like the idea of being proud of what you're hauling and not hiding it in a big ole box. I also welcome the physical aspect of flatbedding. I realize I'm not really asking a question here, I guess I'm just venting a bit of frustration to someone who prolly understands.

Thanx for listenin'

MJ1657 Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Wallens05

Wallens05 Light Load Member

Aug 4, 2012
    Columbus OH
    Try TMC there an all flattbed company

Yosam Thanks this.
  4. G/MAN

G/MAN Road Train Member

Sep 3, 2010
    Maverick also trains, as I recall. I believe that Swift also has a flatbed division. Prime has flats but I would not waste my time with them. They might be all right if you stay away from their lease programs.

5. Polarbear857

Polarbear857 Light Load Member

Nov 14, 2011
    Coatesville pa
    As does pgt fltbed companies that train are around though some are better than others

6. Jimmy T