Former Publix driver with walmart phone interview

Discussion in 'Wal-Mart' started by TREYDEE007, Sep 15, 2016.

1. TREYDEE007

TREYDEE007 Bobtail Member

Nov 30, 2011
    TAMARAC, FLORIDA
    Hello all,
    I'm Trey and I have been with Publix for almost 16 years. The last 4 years I was driving for them, but due to a few small incidents I was taken out of position. I am currently working in the warehouse as a forklift driver, I have a 3year sentence in a none drive position before I can post for driving again. I am a great driver but had a couple incidents that just happened to close to one another, then a bent aluminum rim took me out of the game. Publix is a good company but like most companies, they are changing for the worst in some cases. They use to value there drivers that's why it used to take 10 years to be a driver, that's not the case anymore. They are turning over drivers like crazy now a days, driving for them is very stressful and the work load is unconsistant. They preach safety but to make good money you gotta hustle, we are home every night but must call in everyday to find out what time we start.

I'm considering leaving Publix for Wal-Mart, but Publix has the better retirement package. I like the fact that it seems like walmart treats there drivers good, Publix used to be a family type environment but now it's cutthroat. My highest pay per year driving for publix was 78k plus 7grand worth of stocks. I just need some insight to whether I should stick it out despite a 35k decrease in pay or move on.

I'm open to answer any questions about Publix but would really appreciate input on my next move.

G13Tomcat Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. 201

201 Road Train Member

Apr 16, 2014
    high plains colorado