Fun On The Road??

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by CobraDane, Aug 3, 2012.

1. CobraDane

CobraDane Light Load Member

Jun 28, 2012
    Weatherford, TX
    Hey Everyone,
    I am new to trucking and going to orientation soon. The title of my question says it all. No i am not talking about "Commercial Company"!!!! I know we are out there to do a job, but all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy. So i was wondering, from experienced drivers, what are some things you have seen or done while out on the road, wether it be museums, theme parks, national monuments, neat/pretty roadside stops, even cool truckstops, etc?

Do you usually find that you have time to stop and see something you want to see?

Anything you wanted to see but just didn't have the time?

Thanks in advance for any replies.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Pete Moss

Pete Moss Light Load Member

Oct 28, 2011
    Phoenix,Az
    Hey-How are you?Fun is where you make it in this job.I have friends and relatives all over the place so there are times i see them for free.Baseball and football games are always fun.

Two things i've found that work very well.See where mass transit is around where you are at and where it goes.For example,from the Denver West TA to downtown is $2.25 each way plus there's a transfer station down the street.The truck is parked and you aren't trying to park where there is really no room for one.

One time in Seattle,we parked the truck in Federal Way,took a bus to the transfer station the downtown Seattle playing tourist.

Talk to the fuel desk.If you are somewhere for a day or two,they know what's going on nearby.You can make a fun time out of wherever you are at.That's up to you how you do it.Have fun and take care.Brian

4. Big Don

Big Don "Old Fart"

Sep 8, 2007
    Utah's DIXIE!