GLOVES???

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by Therookie, Feb 14, 2014.

1. Therookie

Therookie Light Load Member

Aug 21, 2013
    alabama
    I'm a new flat bed driver "couple months" and haul a lot of coils and steel, which involves chains and bungees. I went through 3 pair of cheap gloves the 1st couple of weeks so spent $25 on a pair I thought would last, of course I had a hole in the fingers after a week. Any advice on really GOOD gloves?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. snowwy

snowwy Road Train Member

Jul 6, 2009
    i buy mine from truckstops. for $15. they are leather. don't remember the brand but that's the price. i usually throw them away before they start falling apart. about 6 weeks. they get so dirty, you can't keep your hands clean.

haven't had any luck with anything else out there. even walmart. which have been the shortest lasting gloves.

last year someone else asked the same question. there were a couple of good answers. from stores i've never heard of. hopefully, they're still around. and will see your thread.

Therookie Thanks this.
  4. Reverend Blair

Reverend Blair Light Load Member

May 30, 2011
    Winnipeg, MB
    I like the kind of mid-range gloves made out of pigskin. They cost about ten bucks a pair up here (they'll be cheaper in the US) and last 2 weeks to a month. I figure if I can spend $14.00 a day on cigarettes, $10.00 or $20.00 a month on gloves is pretty cheap.

Therookie Thanks this.
  5. skyguy

skyguy Bobtail Member

Jan 30, 2014
    Got a pair of 'Ironclad Cold Condition' from Amazon. They've been pretty durable, warm but not overly thick and bulky. I do cryo tanker stuff, they've been great.

deedeedallas and Therookie Thank this.
  6. Therookie

Aug 21, 2013
    alabama
    Money isn't a concern but I would think gloves do exist out there that last over 2 weeks. If not, I found something to create. Lol