Handheld cb radio

Discussion in 'CB Radio Forum' started by ChristopherH209, Jan 27, 2017.

1. ChristopherH209

ChristopherH209 Bobtail Member

Nov 21, 2015
    New York
    I've been looking into getting a cb radio for quite a while now and I wanted a portable one. I drive under someone else's authority but usually same truck ever week. So I wanted handheld just so I can have it so no one else can touch it or steal it. I have zero experience with operating a cb radio. I've been looking at the Midland 75-822 Miniature handheld. I'd like to get least 5 miles in open road. Would this be a good first cb for me or just a bad experience?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Timin770

Timin770 Road Train Member

May 27, 2011
    Canton, GA

I have that model and although good from one side of the road to the other, I'm not optimistic about 5 miles. Im sure using an external antenna would be a huge improvement in range for you/me. Ill test it with an external antenna asap and report back.

BTW there are a bunch of youtube videos on this unit

4. ChristopherH209

ChristopherH209 Bobtail Member

Nov 21, 2015
    New York
    Yeah I was thinking about getting external antenna but wasn't sure if I had the knowledge of setting that up. Also would I need to do any tuning?

5. Timin770

May 27, 2011
    Canton, GA

I bet you'd get adequate performance with an external. As far as tuning I'll let the resident gurus answer that.

6. craig_sez

craig_sez Road Train Member

Sep 5, 2013
    novascotia,Canada
    They all need some sorta tuning..Im no expert either but im 99% sure on my answer..

7. Timin770

May 27, 2011
    Canton, GA
    The good news is that tuning an antenna is usually not brain surgery. A few notable exceptions have been discussed on this forum.