Has anyone been through Conways Student Driver Program and do you recommend it?

Discussion in 'Con-Way' started by Nightwind8830, May 13, 2014.

1. Nightwind8830

Nightwind8830 Medium Load Member

Jul 13, 2013
    Chicago,IL
    Has anyone gone through Conways student driving program? I applied to the Des Plaines location hoping to do LTL. An hr rep recommended that I apply for the student driving program since I just got my CDL and have no experience. I know you'd need to sign a contract agreeing to stay a year after training is completed. Are the benefits and pay decent with Conway?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Ryan0789M

Ryan0789M Bobtail Member

Nov 25, 2013
    I graduated over 3 years ago from the program in ST. Louis. I don't know how many good runs there are out of XDP. Money is good but as of right now it takes 5 years to get to top pay. Running linehaul pays the most but being up there near Chicago, you are going to have a lot of small runs and be working a lot on the dock. I'm pretty sure Old Dominion has a drivers program as well. I would check them out before going to work at conway. Find some drivers who work there and ask them about it before you decide to start there or not. Here in St. Louis alone, we have had 10 guys quit so far this year because of how Conway is treating everyone and eliminating our CDL dock positions and putting in non cdl part timers. So basically all the CDL dock workers are getting pushing into the actual driver positions and pushing everyone down the list... in my case around 15 driver positions i'll be dropping. I'll make 80k this year running linehaul and still have a few more raises to go before top scale. Money is great but that is about it. I'm 25 now and have 3+ years experience now with my cdl. That is one good thing Conway has done for me. Many of the guys going through the program here only have plans to stay through the