Heading to indy 12/4/11

Discussion in 'Marten' started by medic1, Nov 28, 2011.

1. medic1

medic1 Bobtail Member

Sep 28, 2009
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Well supposed to head to indy on the 5th for orientation, I have some friends at marten and they say their happy so I will give it a shot.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. 7122894003481

7122894003481 Bobtail Member

Sep 6, 2011
    Good luck. Im an LTL driver and I have delivered to that Marten terminal off 84th and Georgetown where you are probably going. Nice people in there.

CA_Medicine_Woman and medic1 Thank this.
  4. CA_Medicine_Woman

CA_Medicine_Woman Light Load Member

Jun 3, 2009
    Oak Creek, WI
    Just a few tips, having worked for Marten for 4.5 years, and now regretting having ever left them...

1) If you have an important appointment or engagement at home, pad an extra couple of days to the start of your home time request, just in case. I had 54 home times with this company, and they got me home on time only once. That was that one time HR and Safety were watching. With the exception of the first and last home times, it wasn't the fault of the fleet managers, it was the fault of the load planners, who you will never meet.

2) Ignore the bizarre rumours about Randy Marten, as well as any "super trucker" claims about somehow being buddy-buddy with him. The drivers that do know him personally don't advertise, the ones that do advertise are likely lying.

3) Try to keep all communications on the Qualcomm whenever possible. Not only are the fleet managers seriously loaded down with too many drivers on their boards, it is also an excellent way to CYA.

4) No matter how much of a POS your first rig with them is, gut it out and run your hardest. It's the quickest way to getting a shiny new rig (which I did by the second month).