How do you find mobile mechanics

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Mobile tech, Nov 18, 2018.

1. Mobile tech

Mobile tech Bobtail Member

Nov 18, 2018
    Title says it all I'm currently a mobile tech for a company and a part time driver for another I want to branch out on my own I have everything I need except for customers. So what I was wondering is when you brake down away from home how do you find a mechanic and avoid a tow bill

Lepton1, BillStep and Just passing by Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. DUNE-T

DUNE-T Road Train Member

May 10, 2015
    Detroit, MI
    I just go on Google maps and search around my location.

4. gokiddogo

gokiddogo Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2012
    Ontario Canada
    Get listed on google somehow, so when I type in diesel mechanic your name shows up for the area I am searching. Have your information such as what trucks you fix and what engines and that you are mobile. I pass over anything that isn't directly what I want because it's often a car dealer, or auto repair only, never what I need. A simple name something like "Mike's independent heavy truck and trailer mobile repair" is what I look for.

You can also talk to customers now and ask if they would hire you if you go out on your own. Don't do this until you are ready to do it because you may be in hot water with current employer which could result in being fired and your timetable shifting forwards faster than you want it to. I am thinking you may have customers that keep their trucks at home or a yard and you can do the routine maintenance and repairs there, to supplement the emergency breakdown side of your business. Good luck to you, should you decide to pull the trigger.

5. Mobile tech

Nov 18, 2018
    Thank you for your insights I am listed on Google maps and used the word mobile in my name I am calling it <advertising removed>