Howdy all!

Discussion in 'The Welcome Wagon' started by Sysop6oz, Aug 25, 2018.

1. Sysop6oz

Sysop6oz Bobtail Member

Aug 24, 2018
    Little Rock, AR
    I've been lurking and reading on here for awhile and decided to join in. The plethora of information is outstanding!

I’ve had my CDL for about 22 years, but IT lured me in for the last 15 years or so. I’m an IT Security Analyst, and a certified ethical hacker. Unfortunately people don’t care (or pretend it can’t happen) about IT security, or if they can be hacked / how here in AR. The last job I had fought me tooth and nail on an IDS/IPS system so I built a custom Linux Server for next to nothing to get around the CFO.

They jacked me on my pay and I was tired of my 2 teammates doing nothing so I left. Six months later they are in the news about a breach involving 250k patients data. The new security guy took out my server the week after I left...

Long story short, I’m burned out and I miss driving. I need a change of pace and some cash to move my family. I want more for my kids if they stay in the state we live in, and AR isn’t it.

I’m a HAM radio op (take it easy on me haha) and I use it to storm spot for our local NWS. I also train in the MARS program with the Army for national diasters. This is all volunteer work but I enjoy it, especially the rush during storm seasons.

Anyway, I’m glad this is here as it’s helping me get up to speed on changes in the industry and possibly to narrow down who I’d like to sign on with.

Thank you everyone!
    RM

deathB4decaf Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. jammer910Z

jammer910Z Road Train Member

May 28, 2015
    Welcome.
    Good news is that you already have your CDL.
    The bad news is that you haven't used it.