I have a class b license can i make any money in the oil business?

Discussion in 'Oilfield Trucking Forum' started by zbs60, Mar 12, 2019.

1. zbs60

zbs60 Bobtail Member

Dec 7, 2017
    HI All

I have a class B license with air brakes, tanker, hazmat endorsement and passenger endorsement. Im 58 years old. For about 20 years i worked as a limousine driver. I also have 4 years of truck driving experience in a 26ft straight truck with a automatic transmission. Dont laugh, but I graduated from the Greyhound Bus driver training school in Atlanta but only did that for 6 months.

Now that we got that out of the way, just what type of work would i be able to do? What are the wages? Im not interested in doing hard core manual labor. Is there alot of stress being a water tanker driver?

Thanks

Z

Last edited: Mar 12, 2019
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. RockinChair

RockinChair Road Train Member

Feb 19, 2012
    CC, TX
    With a class B license and hazmat endorsement but no tank endorsement, you don't really have many options in the oilfield other than driving a crew van for a frac/cement/coil tubing company, doing wireline, or possibly running a hot-oil truck. If you get the tank endorsement you will be able to drive a straight truck doing frac/rig fueling, vac truck, or super sucker.

If you do not wish to work in the oilfield, there will be a few more options available to you, but I still encourage you to get the tanker endorsement because that will open up a whole lot more doors both in the oilfield and elsewhere.

4. zbs60

zbs60 Bobtail Member

Dec 7, 2017
    Hi RockinChair

Im sorry its late at night i forgot to include the tanker endorsement. I got confused. At one time here in missouri the tanker and hazmat endorsements were separated now when you have both they just put a x on your license. By the way what is a hot oil truck?

5. RockinChair

Feb 19, 2012
    CC, TX