idling a truck. . .

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by mudding in 18 wheeler lol, Sep 2, 2016.

1. mudding in 18 wheeler lol

mudding in 18 wheeler lol Bobtail Member

Jan 3, 2016
    Central Valley CA
    OK so I know this question has been asked more than once but let's begin anyway. . .
    I'm a company Driver that's been assigned a freightliner Cascadia. . .whoopee!
    It will idle ONLY during temperatures above 71 degrees (it shuts itself off at 69-70 degrees) how very courteous of the manufacturer to allow this to happen. . .
    WINTER WEATHER IS APPROACHING. . .
    Which means I will be losing this courtesy very soon. .which makes me sad like this :(

QUESTIONS AND THEORY!
    now it's time for me to impose on the experienced trucker for ANY REASONABLE IDEA on how to idle the truck. . .
    My electronic necessity? Running my 300 watt laptop (yep! That's all I'm here for)

- I thought to install an inverter (which I have, cables and all) but that would only drain the batteries . . .
    but I can't actually access the batteries because they are neatly placed inside a plastic box which is located underneath the driver seat WHICH AGAIN is difficult to access to begin with to deter truckers from messing with the batteries. . .

- then I thought to find a way to have some kind of jury rigged fan that I could duct tape to the cup holder and just cut off the fans and tape something to the spinning fan that would press the "override engine shutdown" button. . .so that every 5 minutes that the engine would shutdown. . .the button would be pressed and viola! An idling engine. . .
    But that might just wear out the button . . .

So for anyone else out there whose just unfortunate enough to face this retarded delimma, have thou comest upon a solution? I'd love to hear it. . .

*don't suggest the accelerator, it shuts down anyway
    *don't suggest keeping the button held down in place. . .it shuts down anyway