im a complaining rookie, am I wrong?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by TheRedskinsWay, Mar 12, 2012.

1. TheRedskinsWay

TheRedskinsWay Light Load Member

Mar 11, 2011
    Columbia SC
    First ill like to say I really enjoy otr driving. I enjoy just about everything about otr. But recently I was taken out of my Cascadia and put into one of these horrible midroof tiny midroof petes. I was pissed, there is zero ,room, zero storage I cant walk upright, I have to nearly do a duckwalk to move around. bang my head, knee, and arms costantly. I cant live in this piece of ####. I came to my sense and told myself to shut up and suck it up. so I went to sleep, and woke up at 3am because I was freezing(27degrees) and turned the truck and heater on, 2 mins later it turns off telling no idle, how the hell am I supposed to stay warm or cool when I cant ####### idle! Am I just complaining to much ?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. pdizzle

pdizzle Light Load Member

Nov 20, 2011
    could you idle the truck up with the cruise control to stop it from shutting down? Like in the volvo's?

4. Peterbeatinit

Peterbeatinit Medium Load Member

Mar 8, 2012
    San Antonio Tx
    I dunno..there are ways to get past th idle issue

set the trailer brakes, don't set the tractor braes..chock the wheels..tricks the ecu into thinking the truck isn't parked...and it will idle..

Petey

5. Truck609

Truck609 Light Load Member

Dec 17, 2011
    Arizona
    Sorry to hear that man, I know it sucks. I spent years crawling over doghouses, laying flat on my back to put my britches on everyday. Try talking with someone about getting a bunk heater or APU or something. In the meantime, get a nice sleeping bag and extra blankets....long underwear helps too.