Insurance question for owner operators...

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by questions54, Mar 27, 2017.

1. questions54

questions54 Bobtail Member

Mar 27, 2017
    Hello,
    Im a little new to the trucking business, just a question....

Owner operators, when you start working for a trucking company.... what kind of insurance do you need to have and what kind of insurance does a company need to have in order for you to work there? Are you responsible for the insurance? (cargo, liability, bobtail....and so on? or are they....

I just know my friend owns a trucking company and they have insurance for their truck... they are also hiring a few owner operators in a few days... and when he was talking about insurance... he said that they are adding the truck and trailer to the companys insurance..... but the driver pays for that.

Basically the driver pays them and they pay the insurance company.

Basically I'm confused if the owner operators pay for their own insurance... because the company is only taking 5% off each load.... and thats it.

sorry if this is a stupid question. just interested in this stuff.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. TROOPER to TRUCKER

TROOPER to TRUCKER Anything Is Possible

Dec 15, 2014
    Charlotte, NC
    Depends

Now you have 52 more questions to figure it out

Kenworth 4life Thanks this.
  4. DUNE-T

DUNE-T Road Train Member

May 10, 2015
    Detroit, MI
    They can charge 10% of the revenue and you pay for everything, or they can charge 20-30% all inclusive. Depends...

5. 1johnb

1johnb Medium Load Member

Jun 13, 2012
    New Paris Ohio