Is It Worth It? (Dump owner/operator)

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by GooseBurt, Apr 11, 2022.

1. GooseBurt

GooseBurt Bobtail Member

Apr 11, 2022
    SWFL
    Hey folks!

I’m new to the forum and hope I’m posting this in the right thread/section.

Anyway, I’m relatively new to SWFL and have been driving dump trucks for just over three years now. I got my start in NY, and have been working for a good company here in SWFL. Essentially, I’m here for input from you seasoned owner/operators, as I’ve been hearing a million varying opinions as to the perks of being an OO and to the contrary, a million opinions on how terrible of an idea it is, especially in SWFL.

By good fortune and luck I have come into a bit of money and was seriously considering purchasing my own Dump. The series of questions I have are endless, but here are my main concerns.

1) Is there money to be made with one (tri-axle, tandem) and working as a sole proprietor?

2) Would you guys (or girls) advise getting a 30k-50k truck that’s heavily used? Or a lightly used kenworth t880 that’s selling for around 130k. Assuming the latter, I would need to finance the truck.

3) My niche market. Based off the fact I would have one truck operated by myself, which market do most folks in that situation focus on?
    I’m probably missing some of the key points I wanted to ask while I was driving earlier but I’m sure it will be expounded upon by you fine people.
    Cheers!!

austinmike Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. abyliks

abyliks Road Train Member

May 2, 2010
    ludlow MA
    Do you have a big pile of dirt with an excavator on top that you need moved? Or another business that is doing really well that you would like to throw money away to knock Uncle Sam Down a few notches?