Jake brake issues????

Discussion in 'Heavy Duty Diesel Truck Mechanics Forum' started by mfd560, Jun 4, 2020.

1. mfd560

mfd560 Bobtail Member

May 16, 2020
    So...I have a 07 KW with a isx. I’m new to the truck and im unfamiliar with the Cummings engines. It seems like the Jake is not as strong as it should be. It has a 3 position switch but there is no difference between the medium and high position on the switch. The Jake at times seems to skip like it’s not on the high setting. The shop put it on computer and didn’t see any issues however did not road test it to see for them selves what’s going on. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!!

650cat425 Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. 650cat425

650cat425 Road Train Member

Jan 26, 2020
    Pennsyltucky
    Is it by chance deleted? I've heard most everyone I know that deleted an isx, complain about the loss of breaking power from the jake.

Roberts450 Thanks this.
  4. mfd560

mfd560 Bobtail Member

May 16, 2020
    The motor is untouched at this point with approximately 220,000 miles on it.

5. Inderjit

Inderjit Medium Load Member

Sep 17, 2017
    There are 2 solenoids under the valve cover. The front is for the front 2 cylinders the rear is for the back 4 cylinders. If the low setting works 2 cylinders and the medium setting works 4 cylinders and both solenoids activate all six cylinders if this is so then the electrical system for the engine brake is working properly. Does the Jake operate with the in all three positions? If it does then you may have a mechanical problem under the valve cover.