Job hopping...let my experience be an example

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by Voyager1968, Jan 19, 2018.

1. Voyager1968

Voyager1968 Road Train Member

Sep 11, 2008
    Phoenix, AZ
    To those of you just starting out in this industry, stick it out for awhile (at least one year) before you look to move to greener pastures. At some point it WILL catch up to you.

For me, that some point is now. And here's my story.

I am a 20+ year trucking veteran with a squeaky clean driving record. No accidents. No tickets. No damaged equipment. No cargo claims. This past fall (12/01/17) I was laid off from a job I landed that I finally enjoyed going to. It was a local, no touch job running on a dedicated fleet. My layoff came when the company decided they didn't want to renew their contract with the customer. Being that they didn't have any other operations here, and are primarily a mid-western carrier, there was no other position to slide into.

During my layoff, I went out to visit my mom in Arizona, then came back only to have my father-in-law die on Christmas morning. So I didn't start actively looking until after the funeral and we got everything situated. Now that I'm putting applications out, every one is being declined. With a perfect safety record, you'd think they'd all want me on their fleets, but they don't. Why? Because of a long and lengthy employment history.

Now, I've never been fired from a job, so insubordination isn't an issue here, but I've gone through a lot of jobs trying to find the balance between life on the road, good miles, good equipment, good treatment, and having time with the family. Having all those things at once is hard to find, and I didn't know how to "suck it up" and deal with the shortcomings that each carrier had in one or more of those areas. So I'd resign and move on to the next one thinking the grass would be greener. It often times is not.