Just about done with orientation. Almost time to roll!

Discussion in 'Melton' started by Triad, Dec 4, 2013.

1. Triad

Triad Light Load Member

Apr 15, 2011
    Columbus, OH
    Well, three out of the four days of orientation here at Melton are done. Notes to take home:

• Lunch is early, at about 10:15, but they order your choice from a few items from a really good pizza place. I highly recommend the meatball sub. So much cheese!
    • I already knew the basics of securing, but forgot quite a bit. The giant Melton securement manual will be handy, particularly stuff I've never done before... Which is anything that isn't coils.
    • Tarping isn't as hard as I thought it would be, just a bit time consuming. Keep the wind out! They are a bit heavy, though.
    • An expected class of 12 turns in to a class of 5 really quickly. The same class of 5 turns in to a class of 2 almost as quickly.
    • Chains are still cool. 4" straps are also cool. I genuinely enjoy messing with that stuff.

More to come! I already know what truck they're going to give me (a relatively new Freightliner Cascadia with an automatic transmission and a Detroit Diesel under the hood and enough room to seat a family of four for dinner inside) and they say I'll have a load on Friday morning. My next report will be from the back of my truck with the APU running and a bag of chips.

jomar68 Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. GITRDUN45

GITRDUN45 Heavy Load Member

Sep 30, 2013
    Happy for Ya!! Congrats and stay safe and keep the tires rolling and make that $$$.

Triad Thanks this.
  4. dennisroc

dennisroc Road Train Member

Oct 9, 2013
    Anjung-Ri, South Korea

Can you tell me why the class ended up with 2, were people getting sent home and for what.

Do they require experience or does having a CDL get you hired.

Also can you tell me about the pay and are all trucks automatic :(

5. Triad