Just waiting on a trainer now!

Discussion in 'PAM' started by tisdal, Aug 1, 2011.

1. tisdal

tisdal Bobtail Member

Jun 27, 2011
    Edwardsburg, Mi
    Welp I graduated C1 Ft Wayne July 22nd. Was there a little less than 3 weeks. The school wasn't too bad except sitting in the classroom going over the same crap they told us to read and do the online tests before we got there. Of course most of the students hadn't done that and only 8 of the 19 managed to pass all the permit tests on the first try. I arrived on my birthday and I guess my birthday gift was getting to wait to piss in a cup and then the nurse feeling my nuts.

The range and road instructors I had were decent and helped alot. I didn't get as much time on the range as some but I got more road time than the others as well. Overall about 10hrs on the road and maybe 5-6 hrs backing. Those total include the CDL Test as well.

PAM was having difficulty verifying my past employment so I wasn't permitted to take the CDL test until that got straightened up. Was waiting on a road instructor to get back in the truck for more road time and I fell asleep in the back. Was awoken and told to get my things and get out of the truck. Was a little panicked then. He then informed me I was heading over to the CDL testing grounds. That gave me about 15 minutes to worry about taking the test while they did paperwork vs the entire day some people had to endure.

I've waited my week for PAM to "complete my DOT file" and made my initial call in and am just waiting on a trainer now. Hopefully one will be available soon.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. djtrype

djtrype Heavy Load Member

Jan 3, 2009
    New Orleans
    My last 3 guys waited anywhere from 2-4 weeks for a trainer. Be prepared to wait just as long. Good luck and be safe when you get one.

4. tisdal

tisdal Bobtail Member

Jun 27, 2011
    Edwardsburg, Mi