Learning as Much as I Can!

Discussion in 'The Welcome Wagon' started by Joab Rynere, Jul 20, 2017.

1. Joab Rynere

Joab Rynere Bobtail Member

Jul 11, 2017
    Alabama
    Hey there folks, I just realized I had been following threads and commenting in subsections, but never bothered to post here.
    I am a 35 year old veteran currently working as a military contractor. I am doing my research on switching careers into some I would enjoy more (I hate being stationary, and my job makes me want to punch kittens in the face). I have a couple years experience as a courier running a 1/2 ton truck, but that rarely required pulling a trailer.
    I am looking into running hotshot, but with the full CDL Class A. However, since I am going to do the full license route, I want to keep my options open and look at least a bit into the full size side of the house as well.
    Any advice or comments you fine folks have, I would be happy to listen too!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    Do you already have your CDL-A and where is your location in Alabama? The neareast town or city so we know the hiring area you live in.

Last edited: Jul 20, 2017
    Joab Rynere Thanks this.
  4. Mudguppy

Mudguppy Degenerate Immoralist

Apr 28, 2014
    Wooley Swamp
    Thank you for your service.
    Wish you the best of luck. I suggest looking into open decks. It's always a challenge and keeps you more active than just a door-slammer......lol

Texas_hwy_287 and Joab Rynere Thank this.
  5. Gunner75

Gunner75 Road Train Member

Mar 17, 2014
    Jackson Center Ohio
    I like my flatbed, that's the route id suggest you go as well, at least then you'll have a leg up when you decide to make the jump to over to hotshot

Joab Rynere and Mudguppy Thank this.
  6. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016