Let's Talk Training - Lowering Equipment Maintenance Expenses

Discussion in 'Con-Way' started by Getstepn, Jun 9, 2014.

1. Getstepn

Getstepn Light Load Member

Jul 10, 2012
    Chesterfield Twp, MI
    I would like to open up a discussion about the training program here at Con-way.
    I am a Contractor that started as a company driver direct out of USTDTS in Michigan.
    Making my conversion to ownership about a year ago has opened my eyes to the real world of trucking. In particular, I am referring to the efficiencies required to really operate a truck safely in terms of mechanics.
    I DO NOT want to turn this into a "bash" session for my beloved Blue! I simply feel that putting this question out, could improve upon the program. Improvements that should result in better drivers, less turn around, and lower equipment maintenance expenses. All resulting in us giving the most convincing argument for better wages. Imagine if you will, the company say 5 million a year in preventative maintenance. We would never get all of it, but in looking at the bottom line it would be easier to make more money and pay better per mile. What happens to the company side always transfers to contractors and vice versa.

So, what are your ideas/thoughts?
    I would love to see them.

frankgh and pattyj Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. pattyj

pattyj Road Train Member

Jul 19, 2008
    Sioux City,ia
    What's beloved blue?Terrific ideas you have but that's too easy for companies to comprehend.FMCSA isn't any better.

4. Getstepn

Jul 10, 2012
    Chesterfield Twp, MI
    Beloved Blue is just a term I came up with. Con-way's theme is "Stay true to blue."