Local log help.

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by soon2betrucking, Aug 9, 2014.

1. soon2betrucking

soon2betrucking Road Train Member

Sep 28, 2007
    Philadelphia, Pa
    Ok guys, need some help with logs.
    I have been doing local now for a few years and recently took a position that sends me 200 miles out, 200 back.
    I have to log I know, however my problem is this,
    I work 7pm-7am, my round trip runs about 422 miles, that's simple, the problem is that my trucks takes the same trip from 7am-7pm. So at midnight I put down starting mileage for that day, then again at midnight the next nigjt I have to put ending mileage, which shows my miles along with the other driver, a total of 844 miles on my log.
    How is this done? I can't show that I drove 422 miles more than I actually did?
    Our logs, paper for now, are set up with beginning and ending mileage.
    Anyone i talk to isn't entirely sure... so I'm hoping for some insight from anyone.
    Thanks in advance
    -s2b.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Hurst

Hurst Registered Member

Aug 24, 2011
    Tampa, Fl
    I'm not going to tell you that what I do is 100% correct,.. but its what I do and DOT has never questioned me about it, So I assume it must be ok.

I'm OTR, but at times when my daily HOS crosses midnite and into the next morning, I dont break up my mileage for each day. I carry the mileage for the 11 hours of driving time and show it at the end of my run. Say I start 7pm and run till 5:30 - 6am. I average anywhere from 650 - 730 miles. So say I show my PTI on the 8th and sleeper berth /rest on the 9th,.. the mileage for that trip goes on the 9th. The mileage on the 8th would have been for the previous trip.

I know this is not always ideal and various situations can throw a monkey wrench into things. But right or wrong,.. thats how I do it.