Looking for weekend work Atlanta GA

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by justwanttotruck, Jun 9, 2024.

1. justwanttotruck

justwanttotruck Bobtail Member

Nov 3, 2023
    Hi, I'm a Class A driver. I have been driving without any accidents since October of last year. I am in severe debt and need to pick up a second job. I normally work two jobs to support myself and my son, but since getting my CDL, I have only been doing one job. I now work for a good company where I am home daily or every other weekday morning, and we pretty much choose when we would like to be ready for a load. I am looking for something long-term if possible. I can run a load for you, picking it up on Fridays and delivering it by Saturday. I am also open to being a bus driver or any other position if anyone knows of any job openings. Perhaps yard jockeys or a similar role where I can earn extra money would be suitable. I need to find a place to live, but my debt is currently high due to my job change.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    TX2Day Thanks this.
  4. tscottme

tscottme Road Train Member

Please understand the HOS apply to ANY work/job, not just CDL driving. Legally, a CDL driver subject to DOT hours of service regulations must count all time spent doing compensated work toward their 60 hour or 70 hour per 7 or 8 day period. Even if your second job is calling people on the phone or anything else it counts against your HOS limit.

Some drivers hide that second job from their primary employer & DOT. If someone involves you in a crash & lawsuit the lawyers will probably find out if you have an unreported 2nd job. It's not illegal unless you fail to get enough time-off from both jobs or don't get 10 hours rest before CDL driving.

Grumppy and TX2Day Thank this.
  5. Chinatown

Aug 28, 2011