Lost

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by alone, Jun 9, 2014.

1. alone

alone Light Load Member

I apologize in advance for the great wall of text you see before you. For some reason the forum pulled out all the paragraph indents, spacing, and other formatting.

I am brand new to truck driving. I know very little about it at all (I've been reading forums for a few weeks now)and was hoping to get some information from experienced drivers to help me makesome educated and life changing decisions. I've got a million questions. Maybeyour answers can help me decide if I am cut out to be a truck driver. I knowthat no one can make the decision for me, but others could certainly help swaymy decision one way or the other after reading about my situation. I guess I will go ahead and just lay it all out there. Bare with me as my questions willlikely hop from one extreme to the next. I appreciate the hard truth andanything else anyone- experienced or not- would like to ad to the discussion.

Immediate things that are drawing meto the trucking industry:
    Relatively quick and easy to obtain a Class A license
    Abundance of jobs all over the nation
    Pay scale. I've seen everything from $35,000 your first year up to $100,000+ for experienced drivers advertised.
    Benefits, medical/ dental/ vision
    Retirement plan
    Living in the truck while on the road

A little about myself and some of thereasons that have led me to the trucking industry: