Medical Card Issues...WTF

Discussion in 'Trucking Industry Regulations' started by Gliding ProStar, Feb 28, 2017.

1. Gliding ProStar

Gliding ProStar Heavy Load Member

Nov 12, 2016
    Waxahachie, Texas
    Hey everyone. I wanted to stop by and post an issue I had with my medical card on 02/27/2017 in Mesquite, TX at a Nova Medical Center at
    I-635 NB at Oates Rd. I am an owner operator from the southern area of Dallas, TX and I just renewed my medical card back in October 2016 and I have always been given a 2 year medical card since becoming a commercial driver 15 years ago. I set up a new contract with a local carrier in the Dallas area and part of their policy requires every newcomer to have a fresh and "hot off of the grill" medical card to do business with them.(company name excluded) I didn't have a problem with it because they pay for the cost of a new DOT Physical at the Nova Medical Center they sent me to. I though, no big deal right, I'll slip in, grab a new 2 year cert. and be on my merry way. Well, the only thing I can say is, "Boy, was I wrong on this one." The doctor at this facility came in the room with a stone cold face, stand up straight posture and she was a woman of very few words. I can only describe it as drill instructor barking commands to do my physical. No bedside manner whatsoever. After the bending, stretching and walking portion of the physical was over she pulled out her stethoscope to listen to my heart and lungs. Now, here is where the #### hit the proverbial fan. She leans back away from me, walks to her computer and starts typing. When she finished she started to walk out of the room and I found that odd so I asked her if there was anything left that I needed to do. She snappingly looked back over her shoulder at me and tells me she is denying my medical card because, wait for it, I have a heart murmur and I have to go see my personal doctor and be referred to a cardiologist to have test done to see if I have an actual heart m