My experience so far...

Discussion in 'Knight' started by Canisius the Trucking Dog, Feb 25, 2017.

1. Canisius the Trucking Dog

Canisius the Trucking Dog Bobtail Member

Feb 25, 2017
    Phoenix, AZ
    I am a new driver- just licensed in Oct 2016, and after a LOT of research I chose Knight. To say I have been less than overwhelmed at how wonderful things are would be an understatement.

As a new driver, I had to start in their Squire program. That's 3-4 weeks out on the road with a trainer who is supposed to have at least a year with Knight before they can even be considered. After spending 3 weeks just talking to my recruiter, I finally get to orientation- later called DQP- Driver Qualification Process. That means you aren't even hired yet when you show up for orientation- they don't even start the process until you arrive. Makes sense I guess considering 25% of the expected people didn't show up.

After 3 days of orientation, and finally getting hired on the 4th day, I learn that they won't have a trainer available until the next week. Great, considering I quit my other job to do this one, right? Finally, they get me a trainer the next day who is based out of another terminal but happened to be driving through Phoenix. I get in touch with him, and he's in California, but will be in Phoenix the next morning. So I ask when I should meet him. He doesn't care he says. He picks me up and I get in the truck. A nice newer International with automatic transmission. He tells me to drive. So I get in and we go. 400 miles first day- through rain, high winds and all. Handled it like a champ. Over the next three weeks we run like a team, 16k miles in three weeks. Come to find out later I was supposed to do 90% of the driving, and the trainer was supposed to ride shotgun and observe. Yeah he did that sometimes. Mostly he slept, unless we were at a pickup or delivery. Made him some fat cash, but that sounds like par for the industry.