Need Practice on Manual Transmission

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Tdawg, May 23, 2019.

1. Tdawg

Tdawg Bobtail Member

May 23, 2019
    I am in kind of a unique situation. I completed a carrier school and obtained my license on a 10-speed manual transmission. Besides the school, the carrier now has 100% automated transmissions, so I have no experience on a manual besides the three week school and getting my license. I have been driving for 2 1/2 years, and at some point, I would like to move to something like a tanker hazmat position, but am concerned about lacking experience on the manual. Any suggestions on how I can get some time in on my time off to practice on the manual to get the feel back? Any ideas are greatly appreciated. Thank you!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. 201

201 Road Train Member

Apr 16, 2014
    high plains colorado
    You could rent a bobtail tractor for $1,000/ hr. or just go for it. I don't see what the problem is, you've handled 10 speeds before. Like riding a bike, it comes right back.

Dan.S and Chinatown Thank this.
  4. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    Some tanker companies have automatic transmissions, so that may not be a hindrance for you.
    Where is your location; maybe can give you some suggestions and places to contact.
    This food grade may use automatics, not sure:
    Click here > Indian River Transport Company
    Trucks:
    • Indian River Transport runs a late model tractor fleet consisting of 600 Peterbilt tractors.
    • All trucks are furnished with refrigerators and premier interior packages, over 70-inch sleepers.
    • All tractors are assigned and are less than 36 months old.

Last edited: May 23, 2019
  5. tscottme

tscottme Road Train Member