New Broker

Discussion in 'Freight Broker Forum' started by honestbrokeringa, Sep 16, 2017.

1. honestbrokeringa

honestbrokeringa Bobtail Member

Sep 16, 2017
    Hello everyone, I am a new Freight Broker in Ga. I was wondering if ya'll had any tips to help me out, besides working for a brokerage company? My daughter is helping me, her husband has been a O/O for 12 years. She knows a lot about the business but we are both new to Brokering. My background is sales and marketing. Being new to the business, I put an ad out looking for Freight Agents to get me started and help me understand the ins / outs of brokering. After reading some of the terrible things in these forums about brokers/agents, I am a little worried. Yesterday I interviewed a guy that sounded too good to be true and it kinda scares me. Since I have given him all my info, my other question is "Can he take my info, broker loads under my name, and get paid without me? Just need advice, not criticism. Thank you in advance for your comments and help. :)

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. DUNE-T

DUNE-T Road Train Member

May 10, 2015
    Detroit, MI
    I am confused, do you have any experience? Have you worked for somebody else before doing freight brokering?

4. honestbrokeringa

honestbrokeringa Bobtail Member

Sep 16, 2017
    No, no experience yet.

5. jbatmick

jbatmick Road Train Member

Dec 1, 2009
    hastings, Fl
    All I can say is good luck. You are gonna need it.

MartinFromBC and honestbrokeringa Thank this.
  6. uncleal13

uncleal13 Road Train Member

Apr 9, 2009
    Humboldt, Sk
    I have zero experience in this field.
    One of the drivers that calls into Sirius radio that went out on his own said that he did something like 500 cold calls before he got his first customer and was quite excited to get it.