New CDL and getting insurance

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by dztruck, Feb 22, 2017.

1. dztruck

dztruck Light Load Member

Feb 22, 2017
    hi everyone, this is my very first post. Ive just made a life choice to go into trucking. I had a few friends who are O/O and ive decided to risk it and do it.

So far ive completed truck driving school, went otr with my friend for 3 weeks to learn and see the life and i believe i can do it.

I got my DOT and am ready to buy a truck and hit the road. Ive only had my CDl for 3 months.

My concern right now is insurance as a few places have denied insuring me since i am a new driver. Ive already found a truck and have the down payment and about 20k set aside for emergencies.

Do you guys know the best way or place to get insurance for a new cdl driver? Any information will help. I will probably be on this forum a lot to learn from you guys. Thanks in advance for all your help!

-Don

DRAGON64 and flyerjon Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. dztruck

Feb 22, 2017
    BTW im also located in Las Vegas NV and intend to run the regional. Mostly so cal/nor cal phoenix

4. cke

cke Road Train Member

Aug 4, 2013
    Colfax Wi
    Probably kinda tough getting insurance with you not having any experience in the trucking business

dztruck Thanks this.
  5. dztruck

Feb 22, 2017
    Yeah progressive said they no longer insure anyone with less than a year. Ive got a few others getting me quotes as i type this. Just wondering if anyone here is doing the same thing or has done it in the past.

6. cke

cke Road Train Member

Aug 4, 2013
    Colfax Wi