New driver for intermodal

Discussion in 'Intermodal Trucking Forum' started by makeit, Mar 16, 2013.

1. makeit

makeit Bobtail Member

Sep 21, 2012
    Central, Fl
    Hi all, a little background I have been driving class b for six years local, I recently upgraded to class A and want to drive intermodal as owner op locally any info or pointers would be great it seems everyone wants 2 years tractor trailer exp. I don't mind starting as a company driver but im sitting great where im at now as pay and benefits and so on. I really would like to know if its possible to drive your own truck and learn or be hired for intermodal. Thanks p.s I live in central fl Lakeland between tampa and orlando

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Studebaker Hawk

Studebaker Hawk Road Train Member

Oct 18, 2010
    NW Indiana
    If you have the money you can purchase any truck you wish. Most carriers are going to require 2 years experience, doesn't usually matter if it is as an owner operator or a company driver. That is what is slowing you down. Your time as a straight job driver almost doesn't count. I assume you want to do intermodal because of the operating radius allows frequent hometime. Tough way to make a living in my view, take a look at the trucks in that field and you will get the picture. Minimum revenue = minimum truck. And the chassis are junk.

4. dannythetrucker

dannythetrucker Road Train Member

May 26, 2011
    everywhere, man
    In Chicago you don't even have to speak English to get a truck and pull intermodal, I can't imagine something like experience would hold you back. and you have a real license, I'd say you are overqualified for intermodal

SHC Thanks this.
  5. makeit

makeit Bobtail Member

Sep 21, 2012
    Central, Fl