New driver with shifting issues

Discussion in 'The Welcome Wagon' started by Chrisdw, May 25, 2017.

1. Chrisdw

Chrisdw Bobtail Member

May 25, 2017
    I have a 1991peterbilt with a C15 caterpillar engine. The truck is a dirt hauler enddump and pup trailer I am a new driver what RPM range is this engine best shifted at. I do notice that this engine in the lower gears 1 2 3 4 does not pick up speed very quickly shifting between 1100 and 1500 RPMs I was told shift between 1200 and 1700 RPMs or between 1500 and 1700 RPMs and to start off in 3rd gear unloaded. Anyone that is familiar with this C15 Caterpillar engine and its power band for shifting gears please respond.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. swaggerjacker

swaggerjacker Medium Load Member

Nov 20, 2016
    Be loose and relaxed. If you're using the clutch, don't push it past the brake pedal when coming out of gear, even less when going into gear. The clutch is not there to help you shift. It is the shifter's enemy. We shift the FLD's at 17 and 14. But they are 60 series Detroits with Eaton Fuller trannies.

bobtrucks2204 Thanks this.
  4. Brandt

Brandt Road Train Member

Sep 17, 2012
    It's a truck so their not very fast but have lots of torque.

I would say shift low rang gears at 1,000 RPMs or less. That way you don't have to worry about matching the next gear. It very smooth shift so you not tearing up the truck.

Then when get ready to flip switch to high rang you shift at 1,500 or 1,600 RPMs.

You will wear the clutch out if you shift and ride the clutch like a car. That why you shift low rang at 1,000 rpm your using the engine torque not the clutch to get rolling. You can also just slide the gears with more practice.

bobtrucks2204 and Bean Jr. Thank this.
  5. swaggerjacker

Nov 20, 2016
    Out at 1700 in at 1400. Place the shifter in the hole so all you have to do is slip her in at 1400.