Newbie Starting Soon

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by rowekmr, Jan 8, 2018.

1. rowekmr

rowekmr Light Load Member

Jul 9, 2008
    Chicago, IL
    Hello
    I used to drive straight trucks for our school system in Chicago back in the mid 90's with a Class B (self taught) then got into construction and occasionally drove their support straight trucks. I changed careers and didn't drive trucks but construction union offered training on Class A's so about 7 years ago upgraded my license (no schooling) and only have towed my own recreational trailers and a short time I did RV transporting in IN.

I have always admired the truck drivers and thought about getting back into the transportation industry but since I work full time can only do it part time and those jobs are far in between and most jobs require 1-2 years experience. I found a local part time job shuttling semi trucks and trailers in between a maintenance shop and their clients locations. I was frank with the interviewer told him I have been inactive awhile but I have a spot less driving background, willing to learn and do extra and I had a strong work history. I was hired and took a driving test with a 30+ year retired truck driver with who I was also honest about my background but passed it with flying colors even though he said I need more practice backing into tight spots. If hired I hope to gain experience and when I retire from my current job drive full time.

Any advice on what else I should do to prepare for a career with the trucks? Any advice on the current potential job shuttling trucks and trailers locally?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient