Not A Trucker...

Discussion in 'The Welcome Wagon' started by tech_worker, Jun 28, 2021.

1. tech_worker

tech_worker Bobtail Member

Jun 28, 2021
    Northern Virginia
    Hello,

I'm a 47 year old tech worker who hates office work. I absolutely ####### hate it. For the past five or so years, I have thought about becoming a trucker, because, from the outside looking in, it appears that it's a profession free of office politics. It seems like it's primarily a solitary profession. You pickup a load, and delivery it all on the open road (Apologies if that is an oversimplified view of trucking).

The only that stopped me from getting a CDL and becoming a trucker is the huge salary cut. Going from $170K per year to $40K was a bridge to far for me with a mortgage, car payment, etc.

Fast forward to 2021, my employer was bought out and my restricted stock units liquidated. I took the proceeds and paid off my mortgage, car and credit cards, with a year's salary still in the bank. The only expenses I have is just insurance, and household expenses.

My hatred of the workplaces is ever increasing and now that I'm debt-free, the idea of becoming a trucker is back in focus.

My coworkers think I am crazy to leave the technology field to drive a truck. At this point, I'm not concerned about status. I just want to leave the office.

I guess my questions are:

1. Is there an abundance of work?

2. Since I have some cash, should I buy my own rig?

3. Which type of hauling should I look at after CDL school, and which type should I transition to after a few years experience?

4. Is there such a thing as contract trucking? What I mean is can I pick and choose my jobs? I don't want to do the 9-to-5 thing anymore.

That's all I can think of at the moment.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Puppage

Puppage Road Train Member

Aug 2, 2012
    Connecticut