Overfilled a tanker

Discussion in 'Tanker, Bulk and Dump Trucking Forum' started by tmb0507, Nov 15, 2020.

1. tmb0507

tmb0507 Medium Load Member

Aug 11, 2012
    Folkston, GA
    So im fairly new to the fuel hauling game I had a issue last week where my trailer was overfilled at the rack. And I'm trying to figure out how common this is. Also running theory was that that scully system failed caused it never stopped it and also I still had green lights even after emergency shutdown. Have also been told that fuel was left in there based on what the prior customer said but I don't believe that cause it filled to 2940 out of 3000 and only sprayed out 5-10 gallons.

Other reason I'm asking is I'm supposed to start with another company in the coming week and I'm trying to decide on if it needs to be mentioned to them prior company says there not saying anything and the rack is saying once I serve my lockout I'm good so trying to decide if safer to just keep my mouth shut or mention it up front and risk losing a really good job.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. bad-luck

bad-luck Road Train Member

Nov 16, 2013
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Its been a long time since I have hauled a tanker. But the sensor in the top of the compartment should have stopped the transfer of product. The compartment should not have over flowed., even if there was product already in the tank

Last edited: Nov 15, 2020
  4. drh72

drh72 Light Load Member

Aug 19, 2012
    Northeast Minnesota
    I would say your scully system failed. It should have shut it down automatically, but still would have over flowed a little bit into the vapor recovery hose. There probably was some product left in the tank, depending on how old your trailer is, your scully should have told you if you retained any product.