Prime Reefer to Flatbed?

Discussion in 'Flatbed Trucking Forum' started by IrreverentCrawfish, Apr 16, 2018.

1. IrreverentCrawfish

IrreverentCrawfish Light Load Member

Jan 31, 2017
    'Merica
    I'm currently a reefer driver at Prime. I started trucking fairly recently, and I'm a company driver right now. I've been thinking about going lease op in the reefer division, but my main issue with that is how noisy that stupid reefer is. I thought I'd get used to it eventually, but every day I have to listen to it costs me that much more of my sanity. I've thought about potentially moving to Prime's Flatbed division, but I'm wondering what life is like for a flatbedder and if I'm cut out for it. I'd appreciate it if some flatbedders would help me learn what I'd be getting into.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. IluvCATS

IluvCATS Road Train Member

Dec 1, 2014
    Seattle, WA
    It’s interesting, sometimes dirty, challenging, and sometimes physically demanding. Every load is different. Do u like those descriptions? If so, do flatbed!

417bigK and Highway Sailor Thank this.
  4. IrreverentCrawfish

Jan 31, 2017
    'Merica
    I like the idea of a challenge. How is it physically demanding? Is it the schedule? Or the actual work? As far as it being dirty, it can't be too much worse than reefer. Some of the slaughterhouses I pick up at are flat out nasty.

5. motocross25

motocross25 Road Train Member

Sep 23, 2010
    Overland Park, KS