Proper method to tensioning chain binders?

Discussion in 'Flatbed Trucking Forum' started by bp88, Nov 23, 2013.

1. bp88

bp88 Light Load Member

Apr 20, 2013
    Orange County, CA
    Hi, I'm a new LTL flatbed driver that hauls steel bars and beams that require the use of chains and binders if the load is heavy enough; as most of you guys here know it doesn't take too much steel to require chains. Our company uses the lever-style binders, not the ratcheting type, so what's the proper way to tighten the binders down?

We normally use winch bars but I've read that you aren't supposed to use them as cheater bars for binders because they can whack you in the face or get flung around if it slips from your hands. I've talked to a few other flatbed drivers with more experience under their belt and most of them have been hit at least once by using the winch bar as a cheater bar; one guy lost some teeth! I really wish my company would purchase some ratcheting binders (I'm a skinny dude) but I don't mind using the lever-style binders if that's what they give us. I just don't want to get hurt and miss work... :biggrin_25512:

Thank you!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. dannythetrucker

dannythetrucker Road Train Member

May 26, 2011
    everywhere, man
    just focus on forming good habits. learn to put your body in position where if something slips or breaks you aren't going to be whacked. If you don't know how to adjust the chain 1/2 link at a time vs. 1 link at a time ask someone to explain it to you.