Question before my DOT physical.

Discussion in 'Trucker Legal Advice' started by Hanmack2001, Aug 22, 2018.

1. Hanmack2001

Hanmack2001 Bobtail Member

Aug 22, 2018
    I am wanting to get my CDL but I have a pain pump in my back. It delivers 0.75 mg a day. Does anyone know if that will keep me from getting my CDL. Can't find anything about it online. Any help would be appreciated before I spend $80 on a physical. Thanks

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. IluvCATS

IluvCATS Road Train Member

Dec 1, 2014
    Seattle, WA
    Is it a morphine based pain reliever? I’ll bet it’s a no-go with DOT. But I’m just an amateur know-it-all.

4. pmdriver

pmdriver Road Train Member

Nov 14, 2017
    Trucking is hard on backs with the sitting for long periods, roads are very rough anymore.

5. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    It's probably narcotic.

That's no go. As of Jan 1 this year anything in narcotic schedule drugs II, III and IV on DEA list for pain relief is disqualifying.

You sir probably are worse than I am to have a pump installed and I am a pain patient with several chronic and pernament problems in my bones among others.

The one advantage of a pain pump it holds 20 to 40 ml of fluid, usually morphine sulfite liquid and doses it in small amounts at the site of the pain. Bypasses the much larger oral pills which don't always work. It also puts it directly into your cerebal spinal fluid area which links directly to your brain. If it feels it YOU feel it.

You probably fill monthly. In order to do that, you have to be with the original prescribing doctor to write a prescription and submit it to your home state pharmacy board (All narcotics in any amount must be reported) and then injected into your pump. Trucking does not always get you home in time for that.