Question from a complete newbie.

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by generationxray, Feb 19, 2020.

1. generationxray

generationxray Bobtail Member

Feb 19, 2020
    So I am considering becoming an OTR truck driver, and bear in mind that I know next to nothing about it right now (I'm a 20 year old exploring different/exciting job options). One question that I've never been able to find an answer to is, what is the itinerary for a typical OTR "venture"? Like, where do you first go from your home city, and how many destinations do you visit before heading home again? Examples of "schedules" you guys have followed from city to city between hometimes would be really helpful for me to understand this whole thing.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. 201

201 Road Train Member

Apr 16, 2014
    high plains colorado
    That's because there isn't an answer for that. Trucking, especially OTR has many different schedules. Some jobs, you'll leave home on a Sunday, for a destination 4 days away with many stops in between, some a day apart, so it will take you all week. Hopefully, it stops on a Thursday, so you can reload something heading back towards home, but don't hold your breath. Many times, you sit all weekend, and start a new week where ever. Or, there's one delivery, but with the silly hours of service regulations today, that could take all week . Weather plays a big part in schedules too. Local or regional work is much more predictable, with daily( or nightly) runs, but that too can run long, and I think my OTR friends got more sleep than I did regionally.

Cabinover101, Jeca0408, rachi and 3 others Thank this.
  4. D.Tibbitt

D.Tibbitt Road Train Member

Apr 26, 2013
    Gettin' down westbound
    U go where the freight goes and u go home whenever. Some companies require u to be out for 3 weeks before going home.

5. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member