Question from new broker/agent

Discussion in 'Freight Broker Forum' started by safety43, Nov 17, 2012.

1. safety43

safety43 Bobtail Member

Apr 9, 2012
    I am a new agent/broker for a large shipping company and a former driver for a large carrier so I have been around for awhile. I have 28 loads posted on company site as well as on Internet truck stop these are posted at a good rate at least I think they are good rates of $1.50 to $2.50 per mile to the truck and have not received a single call. These are all great clients and the trucks I have called are all asking for at least 30% more. I am located in the Pacific NW and just can not figure this one out. Any suggestions???

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Billerd

Billerd Light Load Member

Dec 16, 2011
    Colorado
    First of all $1.50 is NOT a good rate. $1.50 would barely cover the cost of running the truck, unless we are talking LTL or something like that. I run a KW W900l and my cpm is $1.20. Getting paid .30 cents a mile considering a 500 mile day minus food and all makes it not worth an o/o's time to haul a load for $1.50. As a "new" broker you should communicate with the shipper and let them know that we need to make more money per mile in order to keep our trucks on the road and send money home. Another problem is that if you are new in the business do you have a credit rating showing on the boards yet? Are you bonded? People are sometimes afraid of getting screwed over and won't run for someone that does not have a proven track record of paying in full and on time.

4. Pedigreed Bulldog

Pedigreed Bulldog Road Train Member

May 7, 2011