Question regarding CDL under 21

Discussion in 'Trucking Schools and CDL Training Forum' started by hsingh28, Jun 2, 2021.

  1. hsingh28

    hsingh28 Bobtail Member

    27
    10
    Apr 6, 2021
    0
    Hey everyone!

    I am 20 years old turning 21 in 4 months. Recently, been having trouble with family and stuff. I am looking to get my CDL class A. Currently, I live in New York and hold a New York Driver's License.

    I just got off the phone with the DMV here, and they said I can't apply for a CDL or a permit, until I am 21, for class A. For class B and C, I can but there will be an intrastate restriction. I COULD go for a Class B but I'd rather get a Class A since that is what I will need eventually AND I will be paying for driving lessons anyways.

    I want to get my permit, take driving lessons and get a CDL Class A, ASAP. what are my options? I don't care about the intrastate restriction, since I am only 4 months away from turning 21.

    I've heard of many people who go to a state such as California to get their CDL and they take their driving school lessons over there too. How does this work?

    Is it possible for me to do this? What is my best option or plan to do this? Ideally, I would like to get my CDL permit within the next few weeks and begin lessons.
     
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

    Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

    Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

  3. CrappieJunkie

    CrappieJunkie Wishin' I was fishin'

    3,836
    17,096
    Mar 9, 2014
    In a van down by the River.
    0
    If you go out of state for your CDL, like California then you will have to sign on with a company. So, you put in an application with lets just say Schneider. They will review your record...as long as nothing major like a felony or dangerous driving and you can pass a physical they will bring you out. Usually rental car or plane on their dime. They put you up in a hotel and you attend their school. They will teach you just enough to get your cdl. In exchange they require ypubto drive for them for 2 years. If you leave early you owe them all the money they are out, usually about 5k. You pass your test you get your cdl and then go to training.

    Now, since you live in NY, once you get to CA you the state DMV will issue you a learners permit for the state. Once you pass you get a CA cdl. Then once you start with your company they will route you home so you can change the CA cdl to a NY cdl.
     
  4. hsingh28

    hsingh28 Bobtail Member

    27
    10
    Apr 6, 2021
    0
    I appreciate your reply. But I am not looking to sign on to a company. I want to pay for my school, and travel fees, etc.

    What I am looking to do is get my CDL Class A. I am 20 years old and NY has a 21+ requirement for Class A. I am pretty sure there are several other states that allow you to get your CDL under 21, but there is a INTRASTATE restriction.

    So what I was basically asking was how do I get my CDL Class A in a different state, while being a resident of NY holding a NY license?
     
  5. roundhouse

    roundhouse Heavy Load Member

    903
    1,588
    Jul 11, 2018
    0
    I don’t think you can obtain a CDL
    In a state other than the one you’re claiming as you’re residence

    my nephew got a class A before he was 21 , it just had the intra-state restriction on it.
    He was actually driving flatbed 18 wheelers in state before he turned 21

    this was not NY so your milage may vary.

    does NY have CDL classes at community colleges or state run vocational schools?

    that’s the best route for getting your CDL .

    the ones in my state are $1,600 and is a 320 hour class . And is a good class.

    And they are third party testers, which means the school is trusted by the state to do the driving part of the test.
    You still have to do the written exam at the DMV.
     
  6. Brandt

    Brandt Road Train Member

    3,483
    4,243
    Sep 17, 2012
    0
    I think you would have to move to another state say Texas for example because it so big. You can't cross state lines till 21 or 24. I don't remember the limit you have to stay Intrastate till you are old enough to Coss state lines with CLD.
     
  7. hsingh28

    hsingh28 Bobtail Member

    27
    10
    Apr 6, 2021
    0
    I am pretty sure there are community colleges that offer CDL training. But that is not the concern I have.

    New York doesn't allow under 21 to get their CDL Class A. I could go for my Class B but I turn 21 in 4 months anyways, so I feel like the money will be well spent getting my CDL Class A now.

    I won't necessarily be driving a Class A vehicle, but the thing is, I have time to start training and driving lessons now. I would rather use this time to get it instead of 4 months from now, when I will most likely be busy with work.
     
  8. fishonron

    fishonron Medium Load Member

    368
    853
    Jul 25, 2017
    North Central Kansas
    0
    Why not just find something else to do for four months.

    Moving cross country just to save a few months seems a bit extreme to me.
     
    Roger McG and CrappieJunkie Thank this.
  9. Chinatown

    Chinatown Road Train Member

    50,382
    87,798
    Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    0
    Most states allow people as young as 18 to get a CDL-A.
     
    Badmon Thanks this.
  10. roundhouse

    roundhouse Heavy Load Member

    903
    1,588
    Jul 11, 2018
    0
    Yep
    Maybe NY doesn’t ?

    my nephew got his CDL at 20
    And drove in state for a few months until he turned 21 went to the dmv and had the restriction removed and started driving all over .
     
    Badmon and Chinatown Thank this.
  11. hsingh28

    hsingh28 Bobtail Member

    27
    10
    Apr 6, 2021
    0
    I thought NY allowed to get under 21 with the intrastate restriction too but when I started reading the CDL manual, it said age 21+ for Class A and there were no options to list intrastate. I called the DMV and the rep mentioned the same thing. CDL B and C I can get under 21 with the intrastate restriction, but Class A I have to wait until 21.

    This is really ridiculous since literally the next states over, allow under 21 to get their Class A.

    That's why I posted on here, maybe there could be a different option for me to get it in a different state. So far, what I've read on other states MV websites, is that I need an address there so I can change my driver's license to that state and then get the CDL permit and so on.
     
    Badmon Thanks this.
  • Truckers Report Jobs

    Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

    Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

  • Draft saved Draft deleted