Questions for current WM drivers

Discussion in 'Wal-Mart' started by texasmorrell, May 12, 2020.

1. texasmorrell

texasmorrell Medium Load Member

May 3, 2012
    Lone Star State
    I’m sure these questions have an asked 1 million times before on this forum but it’s nearly impossible to find what you’re looking for without sifting through tons of garbage. So I will ask one more time. I was thinking about becoming a company driver for Walmart which is crazy because I’ve been an owner operator for the last 20 years. But I’ve heard a lot of good things about driving for Walmart so I thought I might do some research and consider it.

1. What are the working hours for the driving jobs that are posted as daytime? I noticed on the job posting website some of the jobs are posted for night time so those are obvious. I don’t mind working 6 AM to 10 PM but outside of those hours I expect to be sleeping.

2. Please explain slip seating and permanent trucks at Walmart.

3. Please describe a typical load or round trip that a driver would make to and from a DC.

4. Do you have normal scheduled days off that remain consistent? Can you expect to have weekends and holidays off?

Please throw in any other information you think is important for a new guy to know before hiring on. Like I said, I know these questions have been asked before but it’s impossible to find exactly where they are in this forum. Thanks.

JOHNQPUBLIC and truckdriver31 Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. haz-matguru

haz-matguru Road Train Member

Feb 18, 2012
    As a new hire you will be an extra until you gain a bid run. You will have a start time issued (gate time). A work week will be come in at your gate time. Find what tractor your in. Put your things in it. Grab your dispatch and find your trailer. Then hook up and pretrip. And head out to the store.