Quick one day CDL schools vs 4 weeks or more?

Discussion in 'The Welcome Wagon' started by Bevo, May 8, 2019.

1. Bevo

Bevo Bobtail Member

May 8, 2019
    Is it worth spending the money to go to a 4 week school compared to the much cheaper one day schools? I'm a newbie and looking to get my cld license but I'm worried the one day school wont teach me enough to passthe Texas driver's test. Has anyone readingthis got their cdl thru a one day school?Thank you!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    It's not like the old days; today it's difficult to find decent work with that one day school. Some companies that hire drivers with only a cdl permit will hire you, but you still must go through their lengthy driver training program.
    Attend a 4 week school and be done with it
    Where are you in Texas?

NavigatorWife and Dreazz75 Thank this.
  4. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    You could not learn in one day something this involved.

If it is one thing I find horrible is to watch someone move a semi for the first time in their lives both forward or backwards. The poor truck is going to suffer some.

Today's push button trucks, you could probably drive it. But you will discover that some automatic transmissions will turn the whole thing into a kids carnival bounce house trying to back a trailer anywhere. Or worse some rigs are programmed with a so called urge to move causing you to stand on the brakes.

You better off in school with trucks.

Even if you got a CDL under a shade tree or in school or whatever, your real schooling begins when dispatcher hands you your first papers on a load to go get far away.

5. Bevo

Bevo Bobtail Member

May 8, 2019