Refer Expense

Discussion in 'John Christner' started by Aminal, May 27, 2014.

1. Aminal

Aminal Heavy Load Member

Hi. This seems to be pretty cool forum. I'm very seriously considering doin the L/P thing and looking at different companies. I know about all the standard caveats but I've been at this game more than a couple trips and I think I can make a good L/P work for me and then get into the better money aspects after I have title to an asset and a bunch of reserve capital banked during the lease. All in all it still pays more than I net as a good company driver. Not a heck of a lot but enough to make the long term benefit of owning the truck definitely worth it for me.

My questions is are inn regards to me not having a single day experience with refers. I've done a pretty fair bit of grocery warehouses pulling a dry box and heard some chatter amongst refer drivers but I have no experience. Willing to learn if I decide to go that route but I have a couple of concerns regarding refer and L/P:

Wait time at docks. It was pretty unusual for me to go to any grocery place and not be there several hours waiting to load and unload. How's that with the majority of JCT freight? I'd think most everything in a refer would be live. Hard to imagine running a refer on a drop lot.

Speaking of docks: I have heard of "dock fees" in the produce sector and the company always paid lumpers fees as a company driver. I'm pretty sure they wouldn't in a L/P type operation.

Stupid question but; I assume the company pays for the refer fuel? Maybe not though.

How about freight claims for when a refer goes out and even though you jump on it timely and get it to a shop before the temp gets too off; but then the shop doesn't get it repaired timely and all the ice cream melts (or whatever). How's that work?

Speaking of that, I'm sure there's times you need a washout; I'm guessing that would come out of the lessee's cut.

Thanks for any info.

2. Truckers Report Jobs