REJECTED LOAD

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by stephlop_93, Dec 17, 2018.

1. stephlop_93

stephlop_93 Bobtail Member

Dec 10, 2018
    Hi guys, I'm new to the business and really need help. I'm the owner with my own MC. We hauled watermelons from AZ to CO and they were rejected due to quality(they weren't green or red enough), nothing to do with us. This was Saturday and they sat in the reefer all day Sunday since all I received from the broker was "I don't know what to do, Im working with the client to figure something out". Its now Monday and had to cancel load since I don't have an empty trailer. Legally what are my options? Can I demand receiver unload them? How can I protect my butt and get my trailer empty? THANKS!!!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. gokiddogo

gokiddogo Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2012
    Ontario Canada
    I hope you have a temp tale and ran this one on continuous. Prepare for any way they will try to make a claim. Quality is not your fault. They will likely try to find a ppace close for you to take them. Demand layover pay by the day. You will be paid as agreed for original load. Whether or not you want to try for more, depending how much further you must take this load, is up to you.

If it's close by, I don't generally charge. I tell the broker if he wants to hire me again that's his call, then I write the shipper and receiver and story in my memory and never return. Depending how the broker handles it, let that be your guide if you want to possibly build a relationship there or not.

I have worked my way into good folks to deal with. No new stuff. Haven't done melons in probably 4 years now. That may have more to do with my running area.

Dave_in_AZ Thanks this.
  4. Lepton1

Lepton1 Road Train Member

Nov 23, 2012
    Yukon, OK
    Another reason I would never want to be a MC pulling reefers.

Dave_in_AZ and JonJon78 Thank this.