Run more efficiently

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Lonester28, Jan 27, 2023.

1. Lonester28

Lonester28 Bobtail Member

Jan 27, 2023
    Hello I'm a new solo OTR driver with Knight , I would like any tips or suggestions to run more efficiently also how to trip plan for the week . And also how to do a split so I can get hours back on my recaps?

Last edited: Jan 28, 2023
    Reason for edit: Mispelling errors
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. drvrtech77

drvrtech77 Road Train Member

Mar 20, 2010
    As far as split sleeper, if knight allows it , then you should be able to an 8/2, 7/3 or 2/8 or 3/7 split…like if you’re at a customer that usually takes 2hours to unload/load, go sleeper berth for that duration…again that’s if knight has it set properly and allows it.

trip plan, use 50mph as baseline avg speed..using that method, more times than not you will be early…if that occurs, then update your pta with dispatch to show more accurate time as you get closer…

ducnut and Lonester28 Thank this.
  4. Moosetek13

Moosetek13 Road Train Member

Nov 1, 2010
    Burnsville, MN
    A split has nothing to do with recaps hours.
    Planning for the week does.

And you don't get miles back on the recap, you get hours to run those miles.

If you want to run on recap hours then you will average your daily on duty time (including drive time) to be 8.75 hours.
    That means you can not run many 600 mile days without some 300 mile days in the mix for the week.

tscottme, ducnut and Lonester28 Thank this.
  5. Ffx95

Ffx95 Road Train Member

May 18, 2017